Get to Know Our Team: All About Ashley

Ashley - Interiors by The Sewing Room

I like to work from the floor.

If you see me on the fantastically patterned carpet at Interiors by the Sewing Room, do not be alarmed. When I’m creatively working through a problem, my mind and body needs more surface area than a chair and desk can provide. In order to think outside the box, I remove myself from the box (a chair), and sit on the floor where my mind can explore more options and possible solutions to your design problems.

Ashley - Interiors by The Sewing Room

I studied art, design, marketing, and Italian for four years at Northern Illinois University where I received my Bachelor’s Degree. I grew up in the rural village of Sherrard, Illinois, where I spent most of my time enjoying nature, animals, drawing, and creating. When I was 17, I started painting and selling shoes. I painted the original pair to look like feet ; they went on to win a 2nd place ribbon at a High School art competition.

Ashley - Painted Feet Shoes - Interiors by The Sewing Room

My creativity and artistic abilities stem from the Piasecki family; my grandma, aunts, uncle, and father are incredibly talented artists, and I wanted to be the first Piasecki to further my education of the arts. After two years of working towards an illustration degree, I found myself feeling unsatisfied. I didn’t want to be the artist; I wanted to help the artists.

Once I stepped foot in NIU’s College of Business, I felt like I was home. Through the College of Business, I landed a 2 week internship with a nonprofit organization (Human Connections) in Mexico during the winter break between 2014 and 2015. I worked with local artisans to better market their wares and sell in the US; I was essentially an international business consultant (which is pretty big for a 21 year old)!

Ashley - Human Connections - Interiors by The Sewing Room

I’ve found my new home at Interiors by the Sewing Room where I seamlessly combine my appreciation of art and love for business. There’s an artist somewhere designing these beautiful and sometimes intricate textiles, and I get to find a home for that fabric. I was blessed with artistic vision which I utilize in people’s homes, and I can help those whom are design challenged or overwhelmed by so many colors, patterns, and textures. I love helping others, I love creating, I love sitting on the floor, and I love my job.

Ashley - Women's Connection Event - Interiors by The Sewing Room

If you enjoyed this post, call or email me, and together we can transform your windows into a visual sanctuary for your eyes.

309-755-0045

ashleyp@qcsew.com

https://www.linkedin.com/in/ashleypiasecki

Or schedule a consultation today!

Interiors by The Sewing Room

Ribbon Cutting - Interiors by The Sewing Room

If you liked this post, we think you’ll love Big Reveal of our Storefront Renovation Plans & Ribbon Cutting

 

 

Additional links mentioned in post:

http://newsroom.niu.edu/1504-2/

http://humanconnections.org/

 

Leave a Reply

