Dreaming of Warm Designs on a Cold Day

As Midwesterners, I think we are born with an innate ability to talk about the weather.  The weather is the best in the Quad Cities around May and September, and though I can rarely complain about the summer heat, I can, however, complain about the cold.  And right now, It. Is. Cold.

Winter Bridge - Interiors by The Sewing RoomIt has also been an extra-busy week.  In between trying to keep my head afloat to get ready for client meetings, I’ve been dreaming of warmer places.

You see, I have a little travel bug.  I love to explore new places, experience new cultures and soak in all the amazing designs that live in a world completely unlike my own.  When I can’t travel, I’ve learned to flip back through photos of past excursions and remind myself of those great times.  I can get lost in that happy place, but return in a much better mood, ready to tackle everything ahead.

Today I’m dreaming of a trip to Marrakech, Morocco that I took with my girlfriends.

Inspiration from Marrakech, Morocco - Interiors by The Sewing Room

Marrakech 12

We attempted to visit Jardin Majorelle, the colorfully designed garden owned by fashion designer, Yves Saint Laurent.

Trek to Jardin Majorelle - Interiors by The Sewing Room

We trekked across the entire Medina (walled-in area of the inner city), through the Souks (streets and alleyways filled with shops), past orange fruit sellers and juice makers, and arrived to the garden’s entrance to discover it was closed!

Jardin Majorelle - Marrakech, Morocco - Interiors by The Sewing RoomSince that trip, I’ve searched to find what we missed, and it’s pretty incredible.  An amazingly colorful building with spectacular views around every corner, places to sit, sip mint tea and feel inspired.

Inspiration from Marrakech, Morocco - Interiors by The Sewing Room

By Viault (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Marrakech_Majorelle_Garden_2011

Sipping Mint Tea in Marrakech, Morocco - Interiors by The Sewing Room

I can see exactly why Yves Saint Laurent said of the first time he traveled to Morocco, “A visit to Marrakech was a great shock to me.  This city taught me color.”

I think any designer, whether creating fashion, graphics, interiors or otherwise could find color inspiration from a visit to Marrakech.

Marrakech 4

And for me, even a virtual visit through my travel photos (and those of others in the places I could not enter) has left me feeling inspired and ready to take on the next project!

As Marcus Aurelius said, “The soul becomes dyed with the color of its thoughts.”  So I plan to continue thinking of colorful (and warm) places whenever my mind focuses too long on the cold weather and long task list ahead, and keep great inspiration at the forefront of my daily life!

The sould becomes dyed with the color of its thoughts - Interiors by The Sewing Room

 

Ready to create a warm & inspiring space in your home?  Call or email our designers at Interiors by The Sewing Room.

(309) 755-0045

Interiors by The Sewing Room

How about using inspiring color in your office to boost employee spirits (& productivity)?  One of our Registered Interior Designers or Architect at our parent firm, Conceptual Designs, Inc. can help!

Click here for

CDIlogo2014webpage

Leave a Reply

